DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Kochbuch
Homepage Conditions of Use Legal Notice Shipping Rates Pay Option Privacy Notice Contact Links

Up

Ingredients for Sushi und Sashimi

Salmon, tuna, shrimp, egg, tofu and much more!

Sushi

The ingredients used for making sushi give the biggest contribution to the taste, the higher quality, the better, as your guests will taste the difference. Every layman quickly recognizes if inferior ingredients were used, as soon as they have enjoyed the taste good sushi once.

In addition to the taste, a visually appealing composition of Japanese cuisine is very important. Try to pay attention to strong and bright colors of the ingredients. So organic products mainly have the stronger colors and have a stronger taste.


The Weight of the Ingredients

Nigiri Sashimi Maki
20g
30g
40g


On a nigiri are usually 20g, 30g has a piece of sashimi and in a Maki 40g role (6 Maki). We recommend 50-100 g per person and ingredient - depending on the composition of the sushi.


Fish

Fish is the classic ingredient for sushi. Only in later years, as sushi became known everywhere in the world, was the choice of ingredients expanded.

Deep Frozen or Fresh?
Most wild fish are infested with parasites as roundworms. So, this is not a sign of lack of hygiene. Usually such parasites live in the digestive tract of animals, but some can wander into the musculature. If you decide to buy fresh fish we recommend to freeze it first at minus 28°C for 24 hours so that you can be sure that all in fish livinging parasites are inactivated. This is especially important for pregnant women! Pleasant side effect it is much easier to cut an almost thawed fish, because while cutting the flesh wont yield or displace and so the cut will be much straighter and smoother.


Salmon (Shake)

Lachs Lachs

Salmon is used in many very famous sushi varieties. Of course there are salmon nigiri and salmon maki, but also in the popular california-roll salmon is used. The highest quality salmon is used for sashimi. For sashimi thicker slices are cut then for nigiri, so plan a slightly bigger share for your guests if you want to surprise them with sashimi.
Only lengthwise filleted meat without any fish bones should be used for the preparation of sushi. Salmon steak or salmon slices are not suitable for the production of sushi.

Salmon is not Equal to Salmon...
Farmed salmon, organic salmon, or better wild salmon? The differences in price and quality are often significant. We recommend organic salmon or wild salmon with organic or MSC (marine Stuardship Council) seal. These grow up with less stress and less use of drugs and put the least strain on marine wildlife - and of course, these fish have the best flesh because they are not nursed in a short period of time! Look for a strong orange tint and thin strips of fat.


Tuna (Maguro)

Thunfisch Thunfisch

As all types of fish which are processed into sushi, tuna should only be of the highest quality.
Be sure to protect the tuna as long as possible from exposion to air! The tuna oxidizes quickly, and becomes unsightly grey. You can cover finished sushi with cling film and withdraw this just before serving. The tuna changes taste only when it starts to dry up, but it oxidizes easily and does not look appealing anymore - and the eye must be pleased as well.

The tuna is a big fish with a lengths of up to four and a half meters. The meat of tuna is so sought after, because on the one hand they have excellent meat quality and on the other hand a high fat content. Tuna can swim quickly up to 75 km/h and have therefore developed large and well circulated through back muscles.


Cuts of Tuna
Thunfisch

Thunfisch The back (Akami) is characterized by deep-red meat with little fat. The grain is wide and its colour is not very different from the colour of the flesh. The meat of the back tastes rather firm and has a uniform taste.

Thunfisch The middle section (Tsutro) has a higher fat content than the back. The individual grains of fat are clearly visible as white rings. The meat has a red tint. Because of the higher fat content, the taste is more intense and varied than that of the back meat.

Thunfisch The bellyh (Otoro) of tuna has the highest fat content. Partly the meat is fully marbled and thus very much brighter than the meat from the back. Meat from the abdomen tends to break along the grain, yes it almost falls apart - this is very normal. Meat from the belly tastes very smooth and, above all when it is eaten fresh, it literally melts in your mouth.


Salmon and tunafillet in sushi/sashimi quality is available deep frozen in our store in Hamburg (weight approx. 100-250g per piece).


Eel (Unagi)

Aal

Sushi with eel belongs to the sweeter sushi. The eel is grilled and then marinated in Unagi sauce. Eel is therefore not used for sashimi, but it usually adornes nigiri sushi.

Shrimps

Eel sushi are served with a dab of sweet sushi sauce (LM792 Unagi Eel Sauce (250g)).

Deep frozen grilled and marinated eel (250g ready to cut) and KINJIRUSHI premium sushi sauce is available in our store in Hamburg.


Fish Roe (Ikura, Uni)

Rogen

Fish roe is used for so-called Ikaro sushi. Meantime, there are many imitates and you should make sure what roe you really are buying.

Ikaro Rogen

The bright orange salmon roe is an often-used ingredient and decoration. If it is fresh, it has a bright shade of orange and shines. The individual fish eggs should still be bulging with liquid.

Less known is real roe form flying fish. It is yellowish and much smaller than the salmon roe. The taste of flying fish roe is quite salty and it is suitable as a side dish.
Cheap imitates of the flying fish roe are often brightly coloured (light green, red) and used as a decoration of the california roll.


Seafood

Shrimp (Ebi)

Shrimp

There are shrimp available in various sizes, but if you have the time and leisure you can prepare these yourselve. You can learn how to prepare the fresh shrimp, in our Sushi cooking class for beginners. In our Cookbook you find a recipe for preparing shrimp, with which you can refresh what you learnt at the cooking class.

Shrimps

If you do not have the time to prepare fresh shrimp, you can buy prepared ones in our store in Hamburg. We have shrimps for sushi for sale in various sizes. How big the shrimp are tells you the L-number. The higher the number, the bigger the shrimp. The sizes 5L and 6L have established themselves particularly well for the preparation of sushi because one must not necessarily take a bite from the sushi, but they can eat the piece with a single bite.
To fully unfold the taste of the shrimp, you should marinate the shrimp for about 2 minutes in sushi vinegar and then put on the nigiri.

Deep frozen shrimp size 6L (280g 30 pieces) und 5L (260g 30 pieces) is available in our store in Hamburg.


Octopus (Tako)

Tintenfisch

Oktopus The Octopus used for sushi has a firm, white meat and dark red skin. The tentacles are cooked and then sliced.

Tintenfisch

Sushi with Octopus are served with a dab of sweet sushi sauce (LM792 Unagi Eel Sauce (250g)).

Deep frozen and ready to serve octopus (20 pieces per 160g box) and KINJIRUSHI Premium Sushi Sauce are available in our store in Hamburg.


Sepia (Mongoika)

Sepia

Sepia The sepia has all white meat, which is cut in crosswise. The sepia coat is used for sashimi. Make sure to cut off a thin layer of the skin of the upper and lower side of the sepia coat, since they taste rubbery.

Sepia

Sushi with sepia are served with a dab of sweet sushi sauce (LM792 Unagi Eel Sauce (250g)).

Deep frozen and ready to serve sepia (20 pieces per 160g box), sepia coat (approx. 200g) and KINJIRUSHI Premium Sushi Sauce are available in our store in Hamburg.



Vegetarian

Egg omlette (Tamago)

Ei

The egg omelette is used in the "thick role" and for the "nigiri with Obi". The egg omelette is prepared in a rectangular pan and rolled in several steps. In order to obtain a uniform colouring you must pay a lot of attention to the temperature of the pan. The finished egg omelette is sweetened in a marinade.
A recipe to manufacture the role yourself, you can find in our Cookbook under egg omelette or learn the preparation in our sushi cooking class for advanced learners.

Futomaki Omlette

The preparation of an egg omelette needs some exercise. But luckily you can buy ready to be served egg omelette.

Deep frozen and ready to serve egg omlette (approx. 500g for about 24-25 nigiri sushi) is available in our store in Hamburg.

Startseite AGB Impressum Versandkosten Datenschutz Kontakt Links

Sie sind hier: www.japan-feinkost.de > Japan-Kochbuch > Sushi

Zutaten für Sushi und Sashimi

Lachs, Thunfisch, Garnelen, Ei, Tofu uvm!

Sushi

Sushi leben von den Zutaten, je hochwertiger die Zutaten, desto besser werden die Sushi Ihren Gästen schmecken. Umgekehrt fällt es auch jedem Laien schnell auf, wenn minderwertige Zutaten verwendet wurden, sobald dieser einmal den Geschmack guter Sushi genießen durfte.

Neben dem Geschmack ist der japanischen Küche auch eine visuell ansprechende Komposition sehr wichtig. Versuchen Sie auf die kräftigen und leuchtenden Farben der Zutaten zu achten. So besitzen Bio-Produkte meißt die kräftigeren Farben und haben einen ausgeprägteren Geschmack.


Das Gewicht der Zutaten

Nigiri Sashimi Maki
20g
30g
40g


Auf einem Nigiri liegen normalerweise 20g, ein Stück Sashimi hat 30g und in einer Maki Rolle (6 Maki) sind 40g. Wir empfehlen pro Person und Zutat - je nach zusammenstellung des Sushigerichts - 50-100g pro Person einzuplanen.


Fisch

Fisch ist die klassischste Zutat für Sushi. Erst in Späteren Jahren, als Sushi überall auf der Welt bekannt wurde, wurde die Palette der Zutaten erweitert.

Tiefgefrohren oder frisch?
Die meisten wild lebenden Fische sind von Parasiten wie Fadenwürmern befallen. Dies ist also kein Zeichen mangelnder Hygiene. Normalerweise leben solche Parasiten im Verdauungstrakt der Tiere, können aber auch in das Muskelfleisch wandern. Sollten Sie Fisch frisch kaufen empfehlen wir, den Fisch zuerst 24 Stunden bei minus 28°C einzufrieren, damit Sie sicher sind, daß eventuell im Fisch lebende Parasiten inaktiviert werden. Dies ist besonders wichtig für schwangere Frauen! Als angenehmer Nebeneffekt ist es viel einfacher einen fast aufgetauten Fisch zu schneiden, da das Fischfleisch beim schneiden weniger nachgiebt oder sich verschiebt und die Schnitte somit gerader und glatter werden.


Lachs (Shake)

Lachs Lachs

Lachs wird in vielen sehr bekannten Sushi-Varianten benutzt. Natürlich gibt es Lachs-Nigiri und Lachs-Maki, aber auch in der gern gegessenen California-Roll ist Lachs. Der hochwertigste Lachs wird zu Sashimi verarbeitet. Für Sashimi wird der Lachs in dickere Scheiben geschnitten als für Nigiri, planen Sie also ein ein wenig größeres Stück ein für Ihre Gäste, wenn Sie diese mit Sashimi überraschen wollen.
Für die Zubereitung von Sushi sollte nur entgrätetes längsfilitiertes Filetfleisch benutzt werden. Lachssteak oder Lachsscheiben eignen sich nicht für die Herstellung von Sushi.

Lachs ist nicht gleich Lachs...
Zucht-Lachs, Bio-Lachs, Öko-Lachs oder doch lieber Wildfang? Die Unterschiede in Preis und Qualität sind oft erheblich. Wir empfehlen Öko-Lachs mit Bio oder MSC (Marine Stuardship Council) Siegel oder Wildfang. Diese wachsen mit weniger Stress und weniger Einsatz von Medikamenten auf und belasten die Meere am wenigsten - und natürlich haben diese Fische auch das beste Fleisch, da sie nicht in kürzester Zeit hochgepeppelt werden!
Achten Sie auf eine kräftige orange Färbung und dünne Fettstreifen.


Thunfisch (Maguro)

Thunfisch Thunfisch

Wie jede Fischart, die in Sushi verarbeitet wird sollte auch der Thunfisch nur von bester Qualität sein.
Achten Sie darauf den Thunfisch möglichst lange vor Luft zu schützen! Der Thunfisch oxidiert schnell und wird dann unansehnlich grau. So können Sie fertige Sushi mit Frischhaltefolie bedecken und diese erst kurz vor dem Servieren abziehen. Der Thunfisch verändert zwar erst den Geschmack wenn er anfängt auszutrocknen, sieht aber oxidiert einfach nicht mehr ansprechend aus - und das Auge ißt ja bekanntlich mit.

Der Thunfisch ist ein großer Fisch mit Längen von ein bis viereinhalb Metern. Das Fleisch des Thunfisches ist so begehrt, weil es einerseits eine hervorragende Fleischqualität und andererseits einen hohen Fettgehalt hat. Thunfische können bis zu 75km schnell schwimmen und haben deswegen ausgeprägt große und gut durchblutete Rückenmuskeln.


Teilstücke des Thunfisches
Thunfisch

Thunfisch Der Rücken (Akami) zeichnet sich durch tiefrotes Fleisch mit wenig Fettanteil aus. Die Maserung ist breit und unterscheidet sich farblich kaum von der Farbe des Fleisches. Das Fleisch des Rückens schmeckt eher fest und hat einen einheitlichen Geschmack.

Thunfisch Der Mittelteil (Tsutro) hat einen höheren Fettanteil als der Rücken. Die einzelnen Fettmaserungen sind gut als weiße Ringe zu erkennen. Das Fleisch hat eine rote Färbung. Durch den erhöhten Fettgehalt ist der Geschmack intensiver und abwechslungsreicher als der vom Rückenfleisch.

Thunfisch Der Bauch (Otoro) des Thunfisches hat den höchsten Fettanteil. Das Fleisch ist zum Teil durchgehend marmoriert und dadurch sehr viel heller als das Fleisch vom Rücken. Fleisch vom Bauch bricht gerne entlang der Maserungen auf, ja fällt fast auseinander - dies ist jedoch ganz normal. Das Fleisch vom Bauch schmeckt sehr geschmeidig und, vor allem wenn es frisch gegessen wird, zergeht es förmlich auf der Zunge.

Lachs- und Thunfischfilets in Sushi/Sashimi Qualität gibt es Tiefgefrohren bei uns Im Ladengeschäft (Gewicht ca. 100-250g je Stück).


Aal (Unagi)

Aal

Sushi mit Aal gehört zu den süßeren Sushi. Der Aal wird gegrillt und dann in Unagi-Soße mariniert. Aal eignet sich daher auch nicht für Sashimi, sondern ziert normalerweise Nigiri-Sushi.

Shrimps

Serviert werden die Aal Sushi mit einem Kleks süßlicher Sushi-Soße (LM792 Unagi Aal Soße (250g)).

Tiefgefrohren Gegrillten und marinierten Aal (250g schnittfertig) und KINJIRUSHI Premium Sushi Soße gibt es bei uns im Ladengeschäft zu kaufen.


Fisch Rogen (Ikura, Uni)

Rogen

Fisch Rogen wird für sogenannte Ikaro-Sushi verwendet. Mitlerweile gibt es viele Imitate und man sollte genau darauf achten, welchen Rogen man wirklich kauft.

Ikaro Rogen

Der hellorange leuchtende Lachsrogen ist eine oft verwendete Zutat und Dekoration. Er ist frisch, wenn er einen kräftigen Orangeton hat und glänzend leuchtet. Die einzelnen Fischeier sollten noch prall mit Flüssigkeit gefüllt sein.

Weniger bekannt ist der echte Fliegenfischrogen. Dieser ist gelblich und sehr viel kleiner als der Lachsrogen. Der Geschmack des Fliegenfischrogen ist ziemlich salzig und er eignet sich sehr gut als Beilage.
Billige Imitate vom Fliegenfischrogen werden oft bunt eingefärbt (hellgrün, rot) und als Dekoration der California-Roll benutzt.


Meeresfrüchte

Shrimps (Garnelen, Ebi)

Shrimp

Shrimps (Garnelen) gibt es in verschiedenen Größen zu kaufen, sofern man die Zeit und Muße hat kann man diese aber auch selber zubereiten. Wie man die frischen Shrimps zubereitet, können Sie in unserem Sushi-Kochkurs für Anfänger lernen. In unserem Kochbuch gib es ein Rezept zur Zubereitung für Shrimps, wo man das im Kochkurs gelernte auffrischen kann.

Shrimps

Sofern man nicht die Zeit dazu hat, um die Shrimps frisch zuzubereiten, kann man diese auch fertig kaufen. Shrimps gibt es Sushi-fertig in verschiedenen Größen zu kaufen. Wie groß die Shrimps sind kann man an der L-Nummer erkennen. Je höher die Zahl ist, desto größer sind die Shrimps. Die Größen 5L und 6L eignen sich besonders gut um Sushi herzustellen, welche man nicht zwingend durchbeißen muß, sondern diese mit einem Bissen verspeisen kann.
Damit der Geschmack der Shrimps voll zur Entfaltung kommt, sollten Sie die Shrimps kurz bevor Sie Ihre Sushi zubereiten, für ca. 2 Minuten in Sushi-Essig einlegen und erst dann auf die Nigiri legen.

In unserem Ladengeschäft gibt es Shrimps tiefgefrohren in den Größen
6L (280g 30 Stück) und 5L (260g 30 Stück) zu kaufen.


Oktopus (Tako)

Tintenfisch

Oktopus Der für Sushi Verwendung findende Oktopus hat ein weißes, festes Fleisch und eine dunkelrote Haut. Die Tentakel werden gekocht und dann in Scheiben geschnitten.

Tintenfisch

Serviert werden Oktopus Sushi mit einem Kleks süßlicher Sushi-Soße (LM792 Unagi Aal Soße (250g)).

Tiefgefrohrenen fertig geschnittenen Oktopus (20 Stück pro 160g Packung) und KINJIRUSHI Premium Sushi Soße gibt es bei uns im Ladengeschäft zu kaufen.


Sepia (Mongoika)

Sepia

Sepia Die Sepia hat ganz weißes Fleisch, welches gitterartig eingeschnitten wird. Für Sashimi wird der Sepiamantel verwendet. Achten Sie beim Sepiamantel darauf die obere und untere äußere Hautschicht zuerst dünn abzuschneiden, da diese zu gummiartig schmecken.

Sepia

Serviert werden Sepia Sushi mit einem Kleks süßlicher Sushi-Soße (LM792 Unagi Aal Soße (250g)).

Tiefgefrohrene fertig geschnittene Sepia (20 Stück pro 160g Packung), Sepiamantel (ca. 200g) und KINJIRUSHI Premium Sushi Soße gibt es bei uns im Ladengeschäft zu kaufen.



Vegetarisches

Eieromelette (Tamago)

Ei

Das Eieromelette wird in der "Dicken Rolle" und für den "Nigiri mit Obi" benutzt. Das Eieromelette wird in einer rechteckigen Pfanne zubereitet und in mehreren Arbeitsschritten aufgerollt. Um eine möglichst gleichmäßige Färbung zu erzielen muß sehr auf die Temperatur der Pfanne geachtet werden. Das fertige Eieromelette wird dann süß eingelegt.
Ein Rezept zum selber herstellen der Rolle finden Sie in unserem Kochbuch unter Eieromelette selber machen oder Sie lernen die Zubereitung in unserem Sushi-Kochkurs für Fortgeschrittene.

Futomaki Omlette

Die Zubereitung eines Eieromelette bedarf einiger Übung. Aber zum Glück kann man Eieromelette auch fertig kaufen.

In unserem Ladengeschäft gibt es schnittfertiges, tiefgekühltes Eieromelette (500g für ca. 24-25 Nigiri-Sushi) zu kaufen.




Laden: Grindelberg 41 | D-20144 Hamburg | Mo-Fr 9:30-18:30, Sa 9:30-15:00 | Fon: +49 40-422 19 14 | Fax: +49 40-422 19 11