DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Homepage Conditions of Use Legal Notice Shipping Rates Pay Option Privacy Notice Contact Links

Up

Sake-Guide

SAKE - a traditional alcoholic drink from Japan.

What is Sake?

Sake is a traditional alcoholic drink from Japan. It is a rice wine that can be drunk both hot or cold. It is made from special sake rice types which are fermented. The higher the degree of polishing of the rice grains to a fraction of the original size, the greater the refinement and taste of the rice wine.

Hot sake is drunk from small cups and cold traditionally from square cedar cups. Today cold sake is served in wine glasses. Just like wine, the different sake types fit different types of food. The quality range is very wide. From the simple pleasure in a can to very exclusive varieties, which may contain gold leaf or are stored over decades in traditional oak barrels, everything available for sake enthusiasts.



Sake Types

A schematic illustration shows the different sake grades. The higher the level, the higher the degree of quality and price.

The six in the schema described sake types belong to the premium class ( Tokutei Meishoshu ), and take a share of approximately 20% of the sake production in Japan. Of these, the top four types of " Ginjo-shu " can be designated as super premium sake. They comprise approximately 6% of total sake production of Japan.

" Futsuu Shu " is similar to the category of table wine, and does not qualify as a premium sake. In general, a significant proportion of distilled alcohol is added in order to increase the amount of subsequently. The proportion of this type amounts about 80% of the entire Japanese sake production. Some of these sake types may have both sugar or organic acids added to improve the flavor. None of these sake types contain preservatives.

Despite the classification, there are large overlaps of the respective groups, so that the scheme shown on the next page serves only for orientation. There are a number of sake types which, although not part of the premium class, are also very unique, special and enjoyable. What really matters is solely the personal taste.


Why is the rice polished?

The starch that is needed for the fermentation for producing sake, is located in the core of the grain (different rice types are used for the production of sake then for consumption as food). In the outer layers, there are fats, proteins, amino acids and other ingredients that have a lasting effect on the taste. If these layers polished away before fermentation, the resulting sake is clear, elegant and "more refined" while the natural flavors are highlighted.

As a simple definition, the more the used rice grains that are used to brew are polished, the higher the degree of the sake type. For example, the outer shell of rice grains for Junmai-shu and Honjozo Shu are peeled 30%, so that around 70% of the original rice grain is left for the production of sake.

The percentage of the polishing grade mentioned here are only the minimum requirements for brewing the particular sake type. Often the rice is polished more than is required according to the sake degree. For example, rice for Daiginjo-shu is often reduced to 35% of its original size, the 65% of its outer shell have been peeled off.


Flavor Profiles

Junmai-Shu

The taste is a little heavier and fuller than that of the other varieties. Acidity is also slightly higher. Junmai-shu is pure sake without additives such as sugar, starch and alcohol.

Honjozo-Shu

The Honjozo Shu is tasting rather light and is often a bit dry. To Honjozo-Shu a little distilled alcohol is added to round out the flavor a little and highlight the particular aroma. Honjozo Shu is also appreciated as a warm drink.

Ginjo-Shu

The flavor is more complex and more delicate than that of Junmai-shu or Honjozo Shu sake. During the manufacture, specific starch and lower fermentation temperatures are used. But these labor-intensive techniques create a flavor and aroma that often fruity and floral at the same time.

Daiginjo-Shu

Daiginjo-shu is an improvement of Ginjo-shu . The rice is peeled before production until 50% and sometimes even until 35% is left. The production is done with even more care so that this absolute premium sake is produced.

Namazake

Namazake is sake that has not been pasteurized. It should always be kept refrigerated or the taste and clarity can suffer. Nemazake has a fresh, lively flavor.


All types of sake (Jumai-Shu, Honjozo-Shu, Ginjo-Shu und Daiginjo-Shu) can be Namazake.


Sake Ranking

Ranking
Without added alcohol*
With added alcohol*

Junmai Daiginjo-shu

Member of the category Junmai Ginjo-shu . Very high polishing grade of the rice grains (at least to a size of 50%**). Extremely precise and highly labor-intensive method of production. The tip of the art of brewing. Lightweight, full-bodied and with a fragrant bouquet.

Daiginjo-shu

Member of the category Ginjo-shu . Very high polishing grade of the rice grains (at least to a size of 50%**). Extremely precise and highly labor-intensive method of production. The tip of the art of brewing. Lightweight, full-bodied and with a fragrant bouquet.

Junmai Ginjo-shu

Brewed in labor-intensive steps. The use of machinery is avoided, instead, traditional tools and methods are used. High polishing grade of the rice grains (at least to a value of 60%**). Fermented in cold temperatures over a long period. Light, fruity and aromatic.

Ginjo-shu

Brewed in labor-intensive steps. The use of machinery is avoided, instead, traditional tools and methods are used. High polishing grade of the rice grains (at least to a value of 60%**). Fermented in cold temperatures over a long period. Light, fruity and aromatic.

Junmai-shu

Made only from rice, water and koji mold. The rice is polished to a size of at least 70%. Full, rich and clearly defined structure of taste.

Tokubetsu Junmai-shu (Special Junmai-shu ) points to a higher polishing grade of the rice grains or the use of a special sake rice type.

Honjozo-shu

Made from rice, water, koji mold and a small amount of distilled alcohol as a tool for enhanced extraction of the flavor.

Tokubetsu Honjozo Shu or (Special Honjozo Shu) points to a higher polishing grade of the rice grains or the use of a special sake rice type.

*Subsequently Added Alcohol: Cheap sake types often have a high percentage of distilled alcohol added at the final stage of production, in order to increase the alcohol content. In the premium classes, as with the sake types from the right column ( Honjozo-Shu Shu-Ginjo, Daiginjo-shu ) only a small amount of distilled alcohol is added subsequently in the final stages of production. In this case, this does not happen, in order to increase the alcohol content, but, in a controlled manner, to draw the highly aromatic and flavorful ingredients that are soluble in alcohol from the fermenting mesh, while the finished sake is separated from the non-fermented solids. A perfectly legal form for making a sake of very high quality.

**Polishing Grade of Rice: As a simple definition, the higher the polishing grade of the rice grains, which are used for brewing, the higher is the degree of the produced sake. For example, is the outer shell of rice grains for Junmai-shu and Honjozo Shu is peeled for 30%, so that about 70% of the original rice grain remain to produce the sakes.
The percentage of the polishing grade mentioned here are only the minimum requirements for brewing the particular sake type. Often the rice is polished more than is required according to the sake degree. For example, rice for Daiginjo-shu is often reduced to 35% of its original size, the 65% of its outer shell have been peeled off.

DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Startseite AGB Impressum Versandkosten Bezahloption Datenschutz Kontakt Links


Sake Leitfaden

SAKE - ein traditionelles alkoholisches Getränk aus Japan.

Was ist Sake?

Sake ist ein traditionelles, alkoholisches Getränk aus Japan. Es handelt sich um einen Reiswein, der sowohl heiß als auch kalt getrunken werden kann. Hergestellt wird er aus speziellen Sakereissorten, die fermentiert werden. Je höher der Grad der Polierung der Reiskörner auf eine Bruchteil der ursprünglichen Größe, desto stärker ist die Veredelung und das Aroma des Reisweines.

Sake wird heiß aus kleinen Bechern und kalt traditionell aus viereckigen Zedernholzbechern getrunken. Heutzutage wird kalter Sake auch in Weingläsern serviert. So wie auch Wein passen die unterschiedlichen Sakesorten zu verschieden Arten von Speisen. Die Qualitätsspanne ist dabei sehr weit. Vom einfachen Genuss aus der Dose bis hin zu sehr exklusiven Sorten, die Blattgold enthalten können oder nach Art auch über Jahrzehnte in traditionellen Holzfässern gelagert werden, ist für den Sakeliebhaber alles zu haben.



Saketypen

Eine schematische Darstellung verdeutlicht die unterschiedlichen Sakegrade. Je höher die Ebene, desto höher ist auch der Grad der Qualität und des Preises.

Die sechs im Schema beschriebenen Saketypen gehören zur Premium Klasse (Tokutei Meishoshu) und nehmen einen Anteil von ca. 20% der Sakeproduktion in Japan ein. Davon können wiederum die oberen vier Typen der "Ginjo-Shu"-Reihe als Super-Premium Sake bezeichnet werden. Sie nehmen ca. 6% der gesamten Sakeproduktion Japans ein.

"Futsuu-Shu" ähnelt der Kategorie von Tafelweinen und qualifiziert sich nicht als Premium Sake. In der Regel wird dieser Sorte ein erheblicher Anteil an destilliertem Alkohol hinzugefügt, um die Menge nachträglich zu erhöhen. Der Anteil dieser Art beläuft sich auf ca. 80% der gesamten japanischen Sakeproduktion. Einigen dieser Sakesorten werden sowohl Zucker, als auch organische Säuren zugefügt, um den Geschmack zu verbessern. Dabei enthält keine dieser Sakesorten Konservierungsstoffe.

Trotz der Klassifizierung bestehen große Überschneidungen der jeweiligen Gruppe, so dass das auf der nächsten Seite dargestellte Schema lediglich der Orientierung dient. Es gibt eine Vielzahl an Sakesorten, die zwar nicht zur Premiumklasse gehören, aber ebenfalls für sich sehr einzigartig und besonders genussreich sind. Entscheidend ist letztendlich allein der persönliche Geschmack.


Warum wird der Reis poliert?

Die Stärke, die für die Fermentierung zur Herstellung von Sake benötigt wird, befindet sich im Kern des Reiskorns (es werden andere Reisorten für die Produktion von Sake verwendet als für den Verzehr). In den äußeren Schichten finden sich Fette, Proteine, Aminosäuren und weitere Inhaltsstoffe, die den Geschmack nachhaltig beeinflussen können. Werden diese Schichten vor der Fermentierung wegpoliert, so ist das Ergebnis ein Sake, der klarer, eleganter und "more refined" ist und gleichzeitig die natürlichen Aromen unverfälscht hervorhebt.

Als einfache Definition gilt, je höher der Polierungsgrad der verwendeten Reiskörner, die zum Brauen benutzt werden, desto höher ist der Grad der Sakesorte. Beispielsweise wird die äußere Schale der Reiskörner beim Junmai-Shu und Honjozo-Shu zu 30% abgeschält, so dass rund 70% des ursprünglichen Reiskornes zur Herstellung des Sakes zurückbleiben.

Bei den Angaben des prozentualen Polierungsgrades sind hier lediglich die minimalen Anforderungen zum Brauen von Sake angegeben. Häufig wird der Reis stärker poliert als es je nach Grad gefordert wird. Beispielsweise wird beim Daiginjo-Shu oftmals der Reis auf 35% seiner ursprünglichen Größe reduziert, d.h. 65% seiner äußeren Schale sind abgeschält worden.


Geschmacksprofile

Junmai-Shu

Der Geschmack ist für gewöhlich ein wenig schwerer und voller als der von anderen Sorten. Der Säuregehalt ist ebenfalls etwas höher. Junmai-Shu benennt puren Sake ohne Zusätze wie Zucker, Stärke oder Alkohol.

Honjozo-Shu

Geschmacklich ist der Honjozo-Shu eher leicht und oftmals etwas trocken. Honjozo-Shu wird ein wenig destillierter Alkohol hinzugefügt um den Geschmack etwas abzurunden und das Aroma besonders hervorzuheben. Honjozo-Shu wird auch gern warm getrunken.

Ginjo-Shu

Der Geschmack ist komplexer und delikater als der von Junmai-Shu oder Honjozo-Shu Sake. Bei der Herstellung werden spezielle Stärke und niedrigere Fermentationstemperaturen eingesetzt. Aber diese arbeitsintensiven Techniken erschaffen einen Geschmack und ein Aroma das oftmals fruchtig und blumig zugleich ist.

Daiginjo-Shu

Daiginjo-Shu ist eine Verbesserung des Ginjo-Shu. Der Reis wird vor der Herstellung auf 50% oft sogar auf bis zu 35% geschält. Die Herstellung wir mit noch mehr Bedacht ausgeführt um diesen absoluten Premium-Sake zu erschaffen.

Namazake

Namazake ist Sake, der nicht pasteurisiert wurde. Er sollte immer kühl gelagert werden oder der Geschmack und die Klarheit können leiden. Nemazake hat einen frischen, lebhaften Beigeschmack.


Alle Typen von Sake (Jumai-Shu, Honjozo-Shu, Ginjo-Shu und Daiginjo-Shu) können Namazake sein.


Sake Rangfolge

Rang-
folge
Ohne zugefügten Alkohol*
Mit zugefügtem Alkohol*

Junmai Daiginjo-shu

Aus der Kategorie des Junmai Ginjo-Shu. Sehr hoher Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner (wenigstens auf eine Größe von 50%**). Extrem präzise und besonders arbeitsintensive Methode der Herstellung. Die Spitze der Braukunst. Leicht, vollmundig und mit duftigem Bouquet.

Daiginjo-shu

Aus der Kategorie des Ginjo-Shu. Sehr hoher Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner (wenigstens auf eine Größe von 50%**). Extrem präzise und besonders arbeitsintensive Methode der Herstellung. Die Spitze der Braukunst. Leicht, vollmundig und mit duftigem Bouquet.

Junmai Ginjo-shu

Gebraut in arbeitsintensiven Schritten. Der Gebrauch von Maschinen wird vermieden, stattdessen werden traditionellen Geräten und Methoden verwendet. Hoher Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner (wenigstens auf eine Größe von 60%**). Bei kalten Temperaturen über eine längere Zeitspanne fermentiert. Leicht, fruchtig und aromatisch.

Ginjo-shu

Gebraut in arbeitsintensiven Schritten. Der Gebrauch von Maschinen wird vermieden, stattdessen werden traditionellen Geräten und Methoden verwendet. Hoher Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner (wenigstens auf eine Größe von 60%**). Bei kalten Temperaturen über eine längere Zeitspanne fermentiert. Leicht, fruchtig und aromatisch.

Junmai-shu

Hergestellt nur aus Reis, Wasser und Koji Schimmelpilz. Der Reis wird auf eine Größe von wenigstens 70% poliert. Volle, kräftige und klar definierte Geschmacksstruktur.

Tokubetsu Junmai-shu (Spezielles Junmai-Shu) verweist auf einen höheren Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner oder den Gebrauch einer speziellen Sakereissorte.

Honjozo-shu

Hergestellt aus Reis, Wasser, Koji-Schimmelpilz und einer geringen Menge destilliertem Alkohol als Hilfsmittel zum verstärkten Extrahieren des Aromas.

Tokubetsu Honjozo-Shu or (Spezielles Honjozo-Shu) verweist auf einen höheren Polierungsgrad der Reiskörner oder den Gebrauch einer speziellen Sakereissorte.

* Nachträglich hinzugefügter Alkohol: Günstige Sakesorten enthalten häufig einen hohen Anteil an zugefügtem destilliertem Alkohol in der Endphase der Herstellung, um den Alkoholgehalt zu erhöhen. Bei den Premiumklassen, wie bei den Sakesorten aus der rechten Spalte (Honjozo-Shu, Ginjo-Shu, Daiginjo-Shu) wird in der Endphase der Herstellung lediglich eine geringe Menge an destilliertem Alkohol nachträglich hinzugefügt. In diesem Fall geschieht dies nicht, um den Alkoholgehalt zu erhöhen, sondern um in einer kontrollierten Art und Weise die besonders aromatischen und geschmackvollen Inhaltsstoffe, die im Alkohol löslich sind, aus der gärenden Masche zu ziehen, während der fertige Sake von den nicht fermentierten Feststoffen getrennt wird. Eine durchaus zulässige Form zur Fertigung eines Sake von sehr hoher Qualität.

**Polierungsgrad von Reissorten: Als einfache Definition gilt, je höher der Polierungsgrad der verwendeten Reiskörner, die zum Brauen benutzt werden, desto höher ist der Grad der Sakesorte. Beispielsweise wird die äußere Schale der Reiskörner beim Junmai-Shu und Honjozo-Shu zu 30% abgeschält, so dass rund 70% des ursprünglichen Reiskornes zur Herstellung des Sakes zurückbleiben.
Bei den Angaben des prozentualen Polierungsgrades sind hier lediglich die minimalen Anforderungen zum Brauen von Sake angegeben. Häufig wird der Reis stärker poliert als es je nach Grad gefordert wird. Beispielsweise wird beim Daiginjo-Shu oftmals der Reis auf 35% seiner ursprünglichen Größe reduziert, d.h. 65% seiner äußeren Schale sind abgeschält worden.