DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Homepage Conditions of Use Legal Notice Shipping Rates Pay Option Privacy Notice Contact Links

Up

Guide to the varieties of Green Tea

Tea, which first was reserved for Buddhist monks, is today intrinsically tied to the Japanese way of life, and is effectively one of the reasons for the high life expectancy of the Japanese People.


All Japanese teas are summarized by Europeans under the term "Green tea". Japanese people however distinguish tea more precisely according to the roasting / fermentation process.

The right temperature of the water is very important for the preparation of green tea. If the water is too hot during the infusion the green tea will become bitter and many health-promoting ingredients are destroyed!
If you pour the boiling water in a cold pot it loses about 10-15°C and that is the perfect infusion temperature for most teas.

The water which is used for the preparation should be as free of lime as possible. Lime is the greatest enemy of tea taste! A green tea, which is prepared with calcareous water, cloudes quickly and the color keeps getting darker and darker. When it cools, the taste will become more and more bitter and make the tea gradually inedible. You can recognise good quality water, if the green tea retains its bright colour.


Sencha

Tee 01

Sencha is a traditional tea that is a favorite of Japanese. Last but not least it`s consumed because it contains a very high proportion of vitamin C, calcium, micronutrients, as well as many other health-promoting substances and is thus a big plus for the physical well-being.


Jo-Sencha

Tee 06

The addition of "JO" is used only for higher quality Sencha. A top quality made from fine leafs. It has a refined aroma, strenght and a slightly bitter taste. The colour of Jo-Sencha is greenish yellow.


Bio-Sencha

Tee 10

Munoyaku is a Sencha harvested from fields which are free of any fertilizer or any plant protection product for more than 10 years. Full of natural and pure energy, this fine leaf results in a cup of highly aromatic tea.


Fukamushicha

Tee 02

Fukamushicha is produced in Shizuoka. The long steaming of the leaves results in a very gentle and mild taste.

Characteristic for this tea is a beautiful, picture-book-like, deep green color.


Ujicha

Tee 03

Ujicha is cultivated in Kyoto and is known for its particularly delicious aroma and its slightly intense taste.

The Ujitea or Uji-cha is grown on the banks of the River Uji(Kyoto). The river Uji has its source in the Biwalake(Shiga) and meanders through the Ujimountains, whose thick mists, coupled with gentle sunshine are responsible for the delicious aroma of Ujitees.


Ureshinocha

Tee 04

Ureshinocha is produced with a very complicated process in Kyushu. It is manufactured today according to the traditional method and is therefore known for its intense flavor.

The area of Ureshino in the Saga-Ken (prefecture in Kyushu) is famous for their Tama - ryokucha - tea, which is also also known as "Guricha".

Even today, this tea is made by a particular traditional method. After steam treatment, the leaves are roasted in an oven (Kama) and formed into small "curls", so-called Tamagata. This tea is known for its strong flavor.

The preparation is the same as that of the high-quality Sencha.


Bancha

Tee 07

Bancha is a variation of Senchas. Bancha is a tea that is produced from the coarser leaves and thin stems, about 2 weeks after the initial harvest has been picked. Bancha is popular because of the refreshing taste and a low content of theine.


Houjicha

Tee 08

Houjicha is a Bancha tea that is roasted for some minutes at about 200 degrees. The color of the tea leaves is brownish and the ready-prepared tea has a unique roasted scent. The color of the tea is golden.


Genmaicha

Tee 09

Genmaicha is a mixture of bancha and roasted Genmei (wholemeal rice). This variety offers a slightly brownish colour with a fragrant aroma.


Matcha

Tee 12

The traditional of the tea ceremony is Matcha. A variety of green tea, which is harvested in the shade and then pulverized to a fine green powder.

Nowadays, you can enjoy Matcha in everyday life as it is no longer used exclusively within the framework of the tea ceremony. A reason for this are the many health-promoting substances contained in the Matcha-tea like in the Sencha-tea. Matcha is especially apreciated because of its high catechine content which is supposed to have a prophylactical effect against cancer .

In addition, Matcha is often used as an ingredient for sweets because its creamy and mild taste. For example, cakes and ice cream from Matcha are very popular in Japan today.

DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Startseite AGB Impressum Versandkosten Bezahloption Datenschutz Kontakt Links


Teesorten Guide

Das Teetrinken, welches zuerst nur Buddhistischen Mönchen vorbehalten war, ist heutzutage aus dem japanischen Leben nicht mehr wegzudenken, und das ist gewissermaßen auch ein Grund für die hohe Lebenserwartung der Japaner.


Von Europäern werden alle japanische Teesorten unter dem Begriff "Grüner Tee" gefasst. Japaner unterscheiden ihn je nach dem Röst- / Fermentierungs-prozess allerdings noch genauer.

Die Richtige Temperatur ist sehr wichtig für die Zubereitung von grünem Tee. Wird der grüne Tee mit zu heißem Wasser zubereitet, wird dieser einerseits bitter, andererseits werden auch viele gesundheitsfördernde Inhaltsstoffe zerstört!
Gießt man das kochende Wasser in eine kalte Kanne um, verliert dieses schon ca. 10-15° Celsius und für die meißten Teesorten ist damit schon die perfekte Aufgusstemperatur erreicht.

Das Wasser, welches zur Zubereitung genutzt wird sollte möglichst Kalkfrei sein. Kalk ist der größte Feind des Tee-Geschmacks! Ein grüner Tee, der mit zu kalkhaltigem Wasser zubereitet wurde, wird schnell trübe und von der Farbe her immer dunkler. Beim Abkühlen entstehen immer mehr Bitterstoffe und machen den Tee nach und nach immer ungenießbarer. Gutes Wasser erkennt man daran, das der grüne Tee seine helle Farbe beibehält.


Sencha

Tee 01

Sencha ist ein traditioneller Tee, der von Japanern sehr gerne getrunken wird, da er einen sehr hohen Anteil an Vitamin C, Calcium, Spurenelementen sowie viele weitere gesundheitsfördernde Stoffe enthält und somit ein großes Plus für das körperliche Wohlbefinden ist.


Jo-Sencha

Tee 06

Der Zusatz "JO" wird nur für höherwertige Qualitäten verwendet. Eine Spitzenqualität mit feinem Blatt, erlesenem Aroma, kräftigem und leicht herben Geschmack. Der aufgebrühte Tee hat eine grünlich-gelbe Farbe.


Bio-Sencha

Tee 10

Munoyaku, ein Sencha, der von Feldern geerntet wird, die seit mehr als 10 Jahren ohne jeden Dünger und ohne jegliche Pflanzenschutzmittel auskommen. Voller natürlicher und unverfälschter Energie, ergibt dieses feine Blatt eine Tasse hocharomatischen Tees.


Fukamushicha

Tee 02

Fukamushicha wird in Shizuoka gewonnen. Durch das lange Dämpfen der Teeblätter ergibt sich ein sehr sanfter und milder Geschmack.

Kennzeichnend für diesen Tee ist die bilderbuchartig schöne, tiefgrüne Farbe.


Ujicha

Tee 03

Ujicha wird in Kyoto angebaut und ist für sein besonders köstliches Aroma und seinen leicht intensiven Geschmack bekannt.

Der Ujitee oder Uji-cha wird an den Ufern des Flusses Uji(Kyoto) angebaut. Der Ujifluss entspring dem Biwasee(Shiga) und schlängelt sich durch die Ujiberge, deren dicke Flußnebel gepaart mit sanftem Sonnenschein für das köstliche Aroma des Ujitees verantwortlich sind.


Ureshinocha

Tee 04

Ureshinocha wird durch einen sehr komplizierten Prozess in Kyushu gewonnen. Er wird heute noch nach der traditionellen Methode hergestellt und ist daher bekannt für sein intensives Aroma.

Die Gegend von Ureshino im Saga-Ken (Präfektur in Kyushu) ist seit Jahr und Tag berühmt für ihren Tama - ryokucha - Tee,welcher ebenso auch als "Guricha" bekannt ist.

Noch heute wird dieser Tee nach einer besonderen traditionellen Methode hergestellt. Nach der Dampfbehandlung werden die Blätter in einem Ofen (Kama) geröstet und in kleine "Locken", sogennante Tamagata, geformt. Dieser Tee ist für sein starkes Aroma bekannt.

Die Zubereitung ist die gleiche wie die vom hochqualitativen Sencha.


Bancha

Tee 07

Bancha Eine Variation des Senchas, ist ein Tee, der aus den gröberen Blättern und dünnen Stielen hergestellt wird, die ca. 2 Wochen nach der jeweiligen Ernte gepflückt werden. Wegen des erfrischenden Geschmacks und eines niedrigen Gehaltes an Teein erfreut sich Bancha großer Beliebtheit.


Houjicha

Tee 08

Houjicha ist einige Minuten bei ca. 200 Grad gerösteter Bancha. Die Farbe der Teeblätter ist bräunlich und der fertig zubereitete Tee hat einen einzigartigen gerösteten Duft. Die Farbe des Tees ist golden.


Genmaicha

Tee 09

Genmaicha ist eine Mischung aus Bancha und gerösteten Genmei (Vollkornreis). Diese Sorte bietet eine leicht bräunliche Farbe mit einem wohlriechenden Aroma.


Matcha

Tee 12

Der Tee, der traditionellen Teezeremonie ist der Matcha. Eine Sorte grünen Tees, welche im Schatten geerntet und dann pulverisiert wird.

Heutzutage genießt man Matcha jedoch nicht mehr ausschließlich im Rahmen der Teezeremonie sondern durchaus auch im alltäglichen Leben. Und dies vor allem insofern als er gleich dem Sencha viele gesundheitsfördernde Stoffe enthält. So wird er insbesondere aufgrund seines hohen Catechins Gehalts, welchem eine Krebsvorbeugende Wirkung nachgesagt wird, hoch geschätzt.

Zudem wird er wegen seines cremigen und milden Geschmacks häufig als Zutat für Süßigkeiten verwendet. Beispielsweise sind Torten und Eis aus Matcha heutzutage in Japan sehr beliebt.