DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Homepage Conditions of Use Legal Notice Shipping Rates Pay Option Privacy Notice Contact Links

Up

The Japanese Tea Ceremony

japanische Teezeremonie

The Japanese tea ceremony (Japan: sado or antiquated chado), also known as tea path and tea ritual, is close to Zen Buddism in its underlying philosophy. It is a form of gathering from the ancient Japanese culture, which follows certain rules in their course. During the tea ceremony tea and light meals are served by a host for one or more guests. To provide the guest a way to the inner retreat, the ceremony takes place in a deliberately simple furnished teahouse.


Historical Background

Matcha and its manufacturing method originates in China and not in Japan. In the Sung dynasty Matcha was developed in China and in the year 1191, the Japanese Buddhist monk Eisai, who had studied Zen (a form of Buddhism, see "Matcha and Zen") in China, brought Matcha to Japan.

In the beginning, Matcha was a luxury product. Under the influence of Zen, Matcha and the tea ceremony became more and more popular and became a part of Japanese culture. By the end of the 13th century, the tea ceremony had established itself as an integral part of the practice between Samurai fighters.

Shu-ko (1423-1502) was the pioneer of Chano-yu (original name of Sado). He was a monk of Buddhism and when he arrived in Kyoto, he found that there is a lot of common ground between the spirit of Chano-yu and Buddhism and so he sublimated the "Chano yu spirit" into the original form of Wabi-Cha (formalism and philosophy behind the tea ceremony) thus he joined the spirits of Chano-yu and Buddhism.

Four centuries after the introduction of Matcha in Japan, was the zenith of Matcha. During this time the tea ceremony was surprisingly popular, and the formalism of the tea ceremony was considered standard knowledge for educated people.

Takeno Jo-O (1502-1555) learned the formalism of the tea ceremony and established it as a form of art. His pupil Syenno Rikyu (1522-1591), the famous tea master, completed the spirit and formalism of Wabi-Cha. Rikyu first served Oda Nobunaga (1534-1582), the supreme Daimyo in times of war (Daimyo here refers to a rank in the Samurai society), then he became a retainer of Toyotomi Hideyoshi (1536-1598). Rikyus tea philosophy was called the less you have of what is superfluous, the more you increase your spiritual level. This absolute spiritual level was for Rikyu the objective of the "Wabi cha spirit". Thanks to his indescribable contributions the tea ceremony became on the one hand formalistic and on the other hand philosophically and spiritually perfect. But Rikyus Wabi-cha dit not fit into Hideyoshi`s tea concept according to which the tea ceremony must be loose and luxurious. For this reason, Rikyu was ordered by Hideyoshi the suicide (Harakiri, Seppuku).

DFlag JapFlag EnFlag
Online Shop
Startseite AGB Impressum Versandkosten Datenschutz Kontakt Links

japanische Teezeremonie

Die Japanische Teezeremonie (jap.: sado oder veraltet chado), auch bekannt als Teeweg und Teeritual, steht in ihrer zugrundeliegenden Philosophie dem Zen nahe. Es ist eine aus der alten japanischen Kultur stammende Zusammenkunft, welche in ihrem Ablauf bestimmten Regeln folgt. Hierbei werden einem oder mehreren Gästen von einem Gastgeber Tee und leichte Speisen gereicht. Um dem Gast die Möglichkeit zur inneren Einkehr zu bieten, findet die Zusammenkunft in einem bewusst schlicht eingerichteten Teehaus statt.


historische Hintergünde

Matcha und dessen Herstellungsmethode stammt wesentlich nicht aus Japan, sondern China. In der Sung Dynastie in China wurde Matcha entwickelt und im Jahr 1191 hat ein japanischer buddhistischer Mönch Eisai, der in China Zen (eine Art des Buddhismus, siehe "Matcha und Zen") studiert hatte, Matcha nach Japan gebracht.

Am Anfang war Matcha eine Luxusware. Aber unter dem Einfluss von Zen wurde Matcha und die Teezeremonie immer beliebeter und wurde allmählich ein Teil der japanischen Kultur. Bis zum 13 Jahrhundert hatte sich die Teezeremonie zwischen Samurai-Kämpfern als fester Bestandteil ihrer Gepflogenheiten etabliert.

Shu-ko (1423-1502) war der Pioneer von Chano-yu (ursprünglicher Name von Sado). Er war ein Mönch des Buddhismus und als er nach Kyoto kam, fand er, dass es zwischen dem Geist von Chano-yu und Buddhismus viel Gemeinsamkeit gäbe und so hat er den "Chano-yu-Geist" in ursprüngliche Form von Wabi-Cha (Formalismus und Philosophie zur Teezeremonie) sublimiert, indem er den Geist von Chano-yu und Buddhismus verbunden hat.

Vier Jahrhunderte nach der Einführung von Matcha in Japan, kam die Blütezeit des Matcha. In dieser Zeit wurde die Teezeremonie überraschend populär und der Formalismus der Teezeremonie galt als Standardwissen für gebildete Leute.

Takeno Jo-O (1502-1555) hat den Formalismus der Teezeremonie erlernt und in raffinierter Kunstform etabliert. Weiterhin hat sein Schüler Senno Rikyu (1522-1591), der berühmte Tee-Meister, den Geist und Formalismus von Wabi-Cha vervollständigt. Er diente erst Oda Nobunaga (1534-1582), der gröste Daimyo in Kriegszeiten, danach war er ein Gefolgsmann von Toyotomi Hideyoshi (1536-1598). Rikyus Teephilosophie hieß, je geringer man das hat, was überflüssig ist, um so höher erhöht man sich auf einer geistlige Ebene. Auf diese absolute geistlige Stufe legte Rikyu das Ziel des "Wabi-cha-Geistes". Dank seiner unbeschreiblichen Beiträge kam die Teezeremonie einerseits formalistisch, anderseits philosophisch und geistlich in ihre Vollkommenheit. Aber Rikyus Wabi-cha passte nicht zu Hideyoshis Teebegriff, nachdem die Teezeremonie luxuriös und locker sein muss. Aus diesem Grund wurde Rikyu von Hideyoshi der Selbstmord (Seppuku, Harakiri) befohlen.